27Nov10

I guess I still owe you a story about what happened on 27th November. Read here if you miss it.

So this is what happened on 27th November 2010.

Mr Boba Fett’s family paid a visit to my parents house, for the official ‘merisik’ tradition. It is one of the Malay culture that people still adhere till today. The purpose of this ‘merisik’ event in the older days I believed is to make sure the girl is still available and to inform officially their intention to ask for her hand in marriage, on behalf of their son. To secure the ‘booking’, a ring (cincin risik) will be given to the girl. Once this is done, normally they will proceed with the engagement ceremony where gifts exchange took place (which includes another engagement ring), discussion about the wedding date, dowry and etc.

Our initial plan was to skip the engagement ceremony, and only do the essential which is the ‘merisik’ thingy. No need for extra trip to Kuching, unnecessary 2nd ring, new ‘baju kurung’, trays and trays of gift exchange and those unnecessary dais people do nowadays.

But plan can still be changed at the very last minute. I got tipped off from Mr Boba Fett that his mother prepared a few decorated trays. Hah! Apa lagi…as soon as I touched down in Kuching, mom and I had to go hunting for extra kek lapis and fruits, and also decorated boxes and basket. Luckily that nowadays, things like this can be found easily.

So, from a simple ‘merisik’ event, it turned into a mini-engagement, minus beautiful clothes (I only wore my Hari Raya ‘Baju Kurung’ that day 😛 ), 2nd ring etc. We were still confused on that day whether it was just ‘merisik’ or engagement itself, with all the Malay culture and tradition to be followed it somehow make it looks complicated.

But I still remember a friend of mine once said, if two people already promised to marry each other, aknowledged by both family, it doesn’t matter whether you had an engagement ceremony or not, you are considered engaged.

So yeah….I’M ENGAGED!! 🙂

4 comments on “27Nov10

Leave a comment